Terrible Beauty – Art, Crisis, Change and The Office of Non-Compliance
6 September–31 October 2011

Press Preview:
5 September 2011

Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2
and various locations

Opening Hours:
Mon–Wed 11am–7.00pm
Thurs–Fri 11am–9.00pm
Sat–Sun 11am–8.00pm

T +353 1 678 79 20


Curators: Jota Castro and Christian Viveros-Fauné

On September 6th, Dublin Contemporary 2011 opens its first edition. Titled Terrible Beauty – Art, Crisis, Change and The Office of Non-Compliance, Ireland’s first major international contemporary art event will run until October 31st. The main exhibition at Earlsfort Terrace features 114 artists from 5 continents, and is curated by New York‐based curator and writer, Christian Viveros‐Fauné, and Franco‐Peruvian artist and curator, Jota Castro.

Some of the many highlights at the main exhibition site Earlsfort Terrace include: a titanic sculpture by Swiss artist Thomas Hirschhorn, an installation by eminent Greek artist Jannis Kounellis, a series of powerful photographs by American Nina Berman, new video works by Israeli artist Omer Fast, as well as a major interactive multimedia sculpture by the Chinese artist Wang Du and a historical piece by Hugo Boss Prize winner Hans-Peter Feldmann.

Emerging artists, including Ella Burke (Ireland), Ludovica Carbotta (Italy), James Deutsher (Australia) and Miks Mitrevics (Latvia), will all present new works side by side with commissions by leading figures such as mounir fatmi (Morocco), Jorge Tacla (Chile), Corban Walker (Ireland) and Dan Perjovschi (Romania).

Collaborative practices are also well represented in this exhibition. They include, among others, the artist collectives The Bruce High Quality Foundation (USA), Claire Fontaine (France), goldiechiari (Italy), Christine Molloy and Joe Lawlor (Ireland), and Superflex (Denmark). Performance pieces include, new commissions by the artists Amanda Coogan (Ireland) and Teresa Margolles (Mexico). Throughout the exhibition, visitors will also experience a programme of art in the public realm. This will include works by artists Alexandre Arrechea (Cuba), Tania Bruguera (Cuba), and Graham Dolphin (United Kingdom).

The Office of Non-Compliance, located within the Earlsfort Terrace exhibition site, will function as a promoter of ideas around a laundry list of non-conformist art proposals. This element of the exhibition will include ad-hoc, accessible structures for discourse around art and its place in society.

Extending its reach across the city, Dublin Contemporary 2011 will partner with four important Dublin galleries: The Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane, The National Gallery of Ireland and The Royal Hibernian Academy.

Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane will present a retrospective of the work of renowned Irish artist Willie Doherty. An exhibition of American painter Alice Neel‘s striking, psychologically penetrating portraits will take place at The Douglas Hyde Gallery. The National Gallery of Ireland will host works by a number of international artists as well as a new commission by the distinguished Irish artist Brian O’Doherty. The Royal Hibernian Academy will host an exhibition of works by American painter Lisa Yuskavage as well as a new commission by Irish artist James Coleman.

Dublin Contemporary 2011
has also collaborated with ANEWSPACE (Dublin) to commission a host of Irish and international artists to cover 22 urban sites in what amounts to a restlessly creative walking tour of the city.

List of artists:

David Adamo, Alejandro Almanza Pereda, Alexandre Arrechea, Kader Attia, Nina Berman, Anna Bjerger, Monica Bonvicini, Alberto Borea, The Bruce High Quality Foundation, Tania Bruguera, Fernando Bryce, Ella Burke, Alan Butler, Matt Calderwood, Ludovica Carbotta, Jota Castro, Catalyst, Chen Chieh-jen, Mark Clare, Declan Clarke, Cleary & Connolly, James Coleman, Amanda Coogan, Mark Cullen, Dexter Dalwood, Alain Declercq, James Deutsher Alberto Di Fabio, Braco Dimitrijević, Willie Doherty, Graham Dolphin, Wang Du, Brian Duggan, Masashi Echigo, Omer Fast, mounir fatmi, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Doug Fishbone, Claire Fontaine, Fernanda Fragateiro, Nicole Franchy, Alicia Frankovich, Carlos Garaicoa, Kendall Geers, David Godbold, goldiechiari, Assaf Gruber, S Mark Gubb, Patrick Hamilton, Thomas Hirschhorn, Katie Holten, Ciprian Homorodean, Simona Homorodean, Jaki Irvine, Áine Ivers, Kysa Johnson, Patrick Jolley, Wendy Judge, Jannis Kounellis, Nevan Lahart, Jim Lambie, Brian Maguire, Kathryn Maguire, Teresa Margolles, MASER, Stefana McClure, Siobhan McGibbon, Bjørn Melhus, Jorge Méndez Blake, Miks Mitrevics, Christine Molloy and Joe Lawlor (Desperate Optimists), Richard Mosse, Carola Mücke, Alice Neel, Liam O’Callaghan, Manuel Ocampo, Gavin O’Curry, Brian O’Doherty, Mairead O’hEocha, Eamon O’Kane, Niamh O’Malley, Hans Op de Beeck, Claudio Parmiggiani, Dan Perjovschi, William Powhida, Wilfredo Prieto, Fred Robeson, Ciara Scanlan, Mathias Schweizer, Marinella Senatore, Guy Richards Smit, Nedko Solakov, Superflex, Jeanne Susplugas, Jorge Tacla, Javier Téllez, Maarten Vanden Eynde, Vedovamazzei, Corban Walker, Ishmael Randall Weeks, Lisa Yuskavage, David Zink Yi.
Road works: D*Face, DMC, Escif, Foes Crew : Kube Roik Omin, Conor Harrington, James Early/inputout, Mark Jenkins, Jor, MASER, Morgan, Prefab (Collective), Will St Leger.

For media enquiries, interview requests and images please contact:
Daniela Sabatini and Claire Feely E [email protected] T +353 1 6787920
Damien Chandler, Brunswick Arts E [email protected] T +44 20 7936 1290